More News

CBE’s 11th Year Celebration Advocates Strong Public-Private Partnerships

Cebu’s historic Fort San Pedro, venue of CBE’s 11th Founding Anniversary and GMM

The Coalition for Better Education (CBE), celebrated its 11th Year Founding Anniversary and Annual General Membership Meeting (GMM) on August 3, 2012, from 3:00 to 8:00 PM, at the Fort San Pedro, Plaza Independencia, Cebu City. A total of 115 guests and members (broken down as follows: 45 existing individual members, 16 existing individual members, 37 new individual members, 1 new institutional member, 2 media and 12 special guests) commemorated the special occasion to collectively look back on a productive 2011 and recommit to the vision of “Creating Learning Empowered Communities”.

A thanksgiving mass, officiated by Fr. Benedicto “Jun-Jun” Sarchez, Jr., formally opened the GMM festivities at 4:15 PM. The program followed thereafter.

The President’s report on the year that was 2011

CBE President, Ms. Grace Ferreros, wasted no time in presenting the many accomplishments and events that marked CBE’s 10th founding year in 2011. Among them were the Ayala Center Cebu Photo Exhibit; the 10th Annual GMM in Radisson Blu which was graced by Dr. Nereus Acosta’s presence; the first Jobs Bridging Fair in SM, which was organized in partnership with TESDA-R7 and DMDP; the conduct of K to 12 Focus Group Discussions (FGDs); observation trips and mini-seminars to various pre-schools; and the successful staging of “Ang Guro, the Musicale”. Entering the first quarter of 2012,CBE collaborated with Aboitiz Foundation and Mata na CDO, a civic group based in Cagayan de Oro, in humanitarian efforts directed towards the Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) of TS Sendong.

In line with the tradition of recognizing the valuable support of members and partners, CBE conferred service awards to:

  • Dr. Nerissa Lopez of Univ. of the Visayas (UV);
  • Ms. Mary Rose Maghuyop of Our Lady of Joy Learning Center (OLJLC);
  • Mr. Jestoni Babia of the Univ. of San Jose-Recoletos (USJR);
  • ITLA Asia-Pacific Winner, Ms. Shateen Sarana of Talungkasay National High School; and,
  • Mr. Lito Munoz of MNCDO.

USJ-R President proudly receives the Presidential Award from CBE’s External Communicatiosn Officer, Radford Yuson

The CBE Service Awards are given to institutional and individual members, including partners, for their steadfast commitment, active participation and service to CBE’s various activities.

The Presidential Award was given to the Univ. of San Jose Recoletos (USJR)-College of Education for always readily making available to CBE their pool of faculty experts in the organization’s training, monitoring and advocacy activities.

Partner’s Awardees were conferred to the following for their patronage of the “Ang Guro” musical play:

  • Dept. of Education-City of Naga Division;
  • Carmen Copper Corp.; and,
  • CITE Technical Institute.

The following partners were also recognized for their assistance in the relief efforts and school kit distribution drive for TS Sendong IDPs:

  • The Maxwell Hotel;
  • VECO;
  • City Savings Bank; and,
  • MNCDO.

New members take oath to contribute to CBE’s vision of creating empowered learning communities

Ever growing as a network, CBE welcomed to the fold 65 new members, 38 of whom were present and were inducted by Ms. Ferreros. Of the 65, 4 are institutional members, one from academe, one from government, one from the professional/civic sector and one more from the business sector. The rest of the 61 are individual members. Of the 61, 3 are from the professional/civic sector, and the other 58 are all from academe.

To put into context this year’s anniversary theme of strengthening public and private partenrships in advancing the education agenda, CBE invited Mr. Rafael “Rapa” Lopa, Exec. Director of Phil. Business for Social Progress (PBSP) and Hon. Agnes Magpale, Vice-Governor of Cebu Province, as Guest Speakers representing the private and public sectors, respectively. Mr. Lopa stressed the need to put in place platforms for collective engagements to ensure that gains in the education sector are sustained. For her part, Vice-GovernorMagpale cited that the responsbilities of a teacher-educator must come hand in hand with that of being a parent.

PBSP’s Rapa Lopa underscores importance of public-private partnerships to improve the quality of education

CBE’s membership further elected two (2) new Board of Trustees from the government and non-government sectors. From the government, Dr. Caridad Labe, acting Assistant Regional Director of DepEd-Region 7 and SDS of DepEd-City of Naga, bested Dir. Rosanna Urdaneta, Regional Director of TESDA-R7. From the NGO sector, Mr. Jeffrey Tarayao, President of One Meralco Foundation emerged as the winner in a competitive field that included Mr. Sonny Carpio of Aboitiz Foundation; Dr. Silvano Maranga, former Regional Director of TESDA-Region 7, now Director of ACES Natural Farming Institute; Mr. John Balledos of LDS Employment Resource Service; Mr. Jessie Cubijano of PBSP. As there were no qualified nominees from the sector he represents as an incumbent, Mr. Carlo Dugaduga is still the Board’s media representative in a hold-over capacity.With online voting allowed this year, enabling members that could not cast their vote personally in the GMM, the elections were made more inclusive. 65 online votes were added to the 106 that were cast manually, bringing the tally to a total of 176 votes cast this year, compared to just a little over a hundred last year.

CBE concluded its annual GMM with a renewed focus on forging stronger partnerships with both the private and public sectors to ensure that better education for all is achieved.

The success of CBE’s 11th Year was made possible with the generous support of the following sponsors: Microsoft Philippines, One Meralco Foundation, Unionbank of the Philippines, Fast Net Development Corp., Microdata Systems & Management, Ramon Aboitiz Foundation, Aboitiz Foundation Inc., PBSP and Wellmade Motors Devt. Special thanks goes to Cebu City Local Government Unit (LGU) and the Dept. of Tourism (DOT)-R7.

CBE’s Board of Trustees pose for posterity with Keynote Speaker Hon. Agnes Magpale, Cebu Provincial Vice-Governor (middle): (from left to right) Incumbent Vice-President for Internal Affairs, Dr. Ramon Judilla; ED Luchi Flores; newly-elected BOT, Jeffrey Tarayao; newly-elected BOT, Dr. Caridad Labe; Incumbent President Grace Ferreros; Outgoing Secretary, Dr. Clara Falconi; Incumbent External Communications Officer, Radford Yuson; and, Incumbent Internal Communications Officer, Bien Fernandez.


Copyright © 2012
All rights reserved
Best view: 1366x768px
Page Last Updated: August 12, 2012

Page Editor: Rommel Leuterio
Email add:
Contact #: 639174204398